Review: Hard Candy Moon Glow Luminizing Powder

Recently, I’ve been getting into more face cosmetics and makeup that can enhance my more natural features and focus on making my skin glow. Recently I picked up this highlighting powder by Hard Candy and I must say, after using it for the first time today, so far so good.

The brand is fairly new, hitting shelves in 2009. I’ve never actually heard of the brand until as of lately when I paid a visit to Walmart.

The first thing you notice when you look at the compact is it’s unusual container. I’m not a big fan of the way it was designed.

The top is transparent like some other compacts but the bottom has little holes that let the sponge hiding inside peek through.

After you unlatch the top, you’re embraced by a beautiful translucent pressed powder with shimmers that glow when the sun or any bright light glistens on your face.

Underneath the pressed powder pot, is both the sponge they provide for application and their logo-filled mirror which reads, “Get ready.. Get set.. Glow!”

The sponge is thin and may look like a dollar-store sponge cut into a heart shape but let me tell you, ladies, this sponge really holds onto the product. Maybe it’s the velvety/suede texture, but either way, if you don’t have a large powder brush on you, then using the sponge works fine as well.

On the left is my face with makeup applied not including Moon Glow and on the right is it applied to my T-Zone. It’s not very noticeable at first, but you can definitely see the difference when I’m under the light.

Hard Candy Moon Glow Luminizer, up-close and under the light

At the low price of $6.88, I must say it’s definitely a try. I’m not sure if I would continue to use the product, but it’s definitely worth every dollar.

5 thoughts on “Review: Hard Candy Moon Glow Luminizing Powder

  1. Hard Candy actually used to be sold at Sephora and department stores, way back in the day. When it “disappeared” and I started seeing it at Walmart, I was super shocked! It’s still a pretty good brand, but the quality and ingredients definitely reflect the downgrade 😦

Leave a Reply

