How I Steer Through Jet Lag

The one thing I cannot tolerate is when my body gets overworked and I can’t enjoy a good night’s rest. Jet lag can be one of the causes of this, and it can be really hard to get through.

I wouldn’t say I travel to different time-zones often, but when I do, there’s a few things I make sure to change before I go forth or back in time:

  • Find out the time difference, then sleep the way you would if you were there already. (ie: I’m travelling to Vancouver, they are 3 hours behind Toronto, so instead of sleeping at 11pm here, I’ll sleep at 8pm. And, I’ll wake up at 4am.) It can be a bit of a pain because you’d be waking up while it’s dark, but you’ll save yourself when you’re there and not waste time sleeping.
  • Drink plenty of water, keep yourself hydrated, and eat healthy. By doing this, you’ll be able to recover faster. Heavy meals and feeling dehydrated will only put strain on your body. Health is wealth!
  • Take a stand-up break. Sitting down for hours on a flight can cause your body to feel tired or fatigued. Take a break: stand-up and stretch your legs and arms from time-to-time to avoid pins & needles, aches, and soreness. (Tip: Eating snacks with high protein may also help, like nuts!)

ph/ weightymatters.ca

Leave a Reply

