TV Review: The Vampire Diaries (Season One)

c/o vampirediaries.wikia.com

Aired: Sept 10’09 – May 13’10
Episodes: 22
Cast: Nina Dobrev, Paul Wesley, Ian Somerhalder, Steven R. McQueen, Candice Accola, Zach Roerig, Sara Canning, Katerina Graham, Matt Davis, Michael Trevino

Of course I’m last to jump on the bandwagon. In fact, I wasn’t even going to watch this series until I heard all this commotion about how Ian Somerhalder might be playing Christian Grey in the upcoming Fifty Shades Of Grey movie. I wanted to take a peak at how his acting is. Quite charming, really.

Popular and (basically portrayed as) perfect, teenage girl, Elena Gilbert, has just lost her parents in an accident. She now lives with her little (teenage) brother Jeremy and their surrogate parent, Aunt Jenna. They’re trying really hard to cope with their parentless-lives.

Elena has her bestfriend Bonnie, frenemy Caroline, and her ex-boyfriend Matt to comfort her. Jeremy, on the other hand, is slipping into the world of drugs to soothehispain.

One day, Elena finds herself infatuated with a mysterious new student, Stefan Salvatore. The feeling is mutual as their relationship starts to grow. She ends up finding out that he’s in fact a vampire, when trauma happens in town.

Damon, Stefan’s brother, is the cause of the trauma. He returns home after 15 years, bitter and hungry for human blood. He looks to destroy the town in vengence for his past love.

Intriguing… isn’t it? I think anyone who is even remotely interested in vampires should give this television show a try. It’s significantly more appealing-to-my-brain than Twilight, but at the same time, they don’t go overboard with the mystical idea. You could easily change the channel if it doesn’t appeal to you.

Spoilers ahead! What I loved about this series is how quickly my mind wanted to dive into the plot. A lot of it was actually hard for me to figure out. I think they took a big risk by letting certain events (i.e. deaths, vampires feeding, new characters emerging, etc.) happen sporadically. To their benefit, it really helped keep my interest in the show – things would happen that would surprise me and have me thinking.

What I didn’t like was how… well, I didn’t really dislike any thing.. more just characters. I really loved Ian’s character Damon, but I really wished he was more assertive than he is portrayed. I mean, I know he’s written to be like that but I’d actually like it better if he ended up with Elena. He’s too passive, and Stefan is too boring. I really hate Isobel, but I think that might be because I can’t see Mia Kischer doing anything other than scenes from The L Word.

My rating for this season would be 4/5. Not perfect, but a really good brain-teasing vampire show.

The series is based off the books by the same name, written by L. J. Smith.

*Photos c/o: http://vampirediaries.wikia.com/wiki/Season_One

Leave a Reply

