Update | Let’s get personal…

A week ago, if you asked me “if life gave me lemons, what would you do?” I’d probably reply with something filled with angst, and frustration like “take those lemons, and squish them in the eyes of those who doubted you”.

For awhile, I was down in the dumps because I went from having three jobs to just one. I’m the type of person who enjoys when there is a lot of responsibility and many things to note on my calendar. Call me crazy, but I love deadlines and spur of the moment projects. While having one part-time job is great (and fun!) it isn’t directly in my field of study.

I graduated with a bachelor of applied arts degree and a certificate in journalism. Quite frankly, I’d like to be headed in that direction right now, but as many journalism graduates know, getting into the full-time work force is quite competitive and challenging especially being in such a busy city (filled with prominent – and arrogant beings).

The search for vacant positions is long, and having interview upon interview with no prevail is quite discouraging and tiring. At this point, I think I might’ve heard almost all possible ways of being ‘rejected’ – “We don’t think you’re a good fit”, “Try again when you have more experience”, “Intern for the first three months and then we’ll see if you meet criteria”, “You’re over-qualified, I think you’ll get bored with this job”, “Sorry”, and of course occasionally, you get no rhyme or reason responses. I was at my edge and contemplating whether I had made the right decision to stick it out in journalism….that was until last week.

At 9am, I was enroute to yet another interview when I stopped by Second Cup to energize myself with the daily morning caffeine dosage. A random stranger had stopped me – her method was karate chopping the air in front of me – before I paid for my coffee and handed the cashier a bill. She told me she wanted to pay for my coffee, and had no reason why. Not only did it lift my spirit, it made me realize that there are still people in the world who believe in good karma and do think we as humans should “pay it forward”.

We’re all in the same world just trying to find our place. We don’t need to prove ourselves to anyone; we should only feel obliged to meet our own standards. That being said, why do people think we need to become aggressive with one another trying to prove we’re in a better place, have more money, have less wrinkles, style clothes better…we don’t need to continue thinking it is a dog-eat-dog world. Everyone just needs to sit and think about what it means to be accepting of one another, appreciating the little things in life, and having the gratitude for being alive another day.

Humility, passion, and kindness are what will take you far in life. And while I’m not quite exactly where I’d like to be, I’m thankful for all the support my family and friends give me. I will make it one day. I’m sure of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

