TV Review: Itazura Na Kiss: Love in Tokyo (Japanese)

Aired: Mar. 29 – Jul. 19 ’13
Episodes: 16
Cast: Honoka Miki, Yuki Furukawa, Yoji Tanaka, Koura Kazumasa, Tomomi Nishimura

It all starts at the Tonan Highschool entrance ceremony. Not-so-smart student, Kotoko Aihara (Honoka Miki) is enchanted by the pretty boy and highest-scoring student, Naoki Irie (Yuki Furukawa).

She falls in love and decides she needs to tell him how she feels through a love letter. Naoki’s rejection to her letter was harsh, “I don’t like dumb women”.

If things can’t get any worse for Kotoko, her house is completely wrecked by a small object falling from the sky. Until her house is rebuilt, Kotoko and her Dad are taken in by her Dad’s friend. Little did she know, the temporary house is also home to Naoki Irie.

How exciting is that? A definite must-watch for the romance comedy junkies! The next is a spoiler, but if you’re interested to read my opinion, continue on!

The story-line is like most rom-com mangas and dramas: girl meets boy who is out of league, somehow boy falls for girl, they end up together.

I could have easily finished this drama in a day or two, but I wanted to prolongue it’s feel-good moments as much as possible – there are so many of them. Despite the stereotypical story-line, I think the plot is actually quite realistic. It’s simple, yet somehow they managed to jerk around my emotions along with the protagonist’s.

Kotoko can be annoying to watch sometimes, just because of her naivety and how dense she is. Naoki is completely emotionless 90% of the time – which is how he is portrayed in the manga. And the third-wheel character, Kin-chan is absolutely adorable. I think I might have even liked him better fro beginning to about episode 10, then after that he gets really depressing. Actually, the whole series gets really depressing nearer to the end. I felt like it was a bit rushed. Nonetheless, still a great drama.

It takes a lot to make me laugh out loud when watching a drama. I usually just giggle slightly in my head, but this drama is so funny. Hilarious, yet still realistic.

I was absolutely in love with Itazura Na Kiss, the manga, and I have to say the Japanese version is now one of my favourite dramas. They portrayed various scenes in the manga perfectly. They adapted the manga better than the other versions (Korea’s Playful Kiss and Taiwan’s It Started With a Kiss), keeping it as close to the story line as possible.

That being said, my rating for this drama would be 8.5/10. Like I said, a definite must-watch for the romance comedy junkies.

Leave a Reply

